Government of Northern Mariana Islands

Country name:conventional long form: Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
conventional short form: Northern Mariana Islands
abbreviation: CNMI
former: Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Mariana Islands District
Dependency status:commonwealth in political union with the US; federal funds to the Commonwealth administered by the US Department of the Interior, Office of Insular Affairs
Government type:commonwealth; self-governing with locally elected governor, lieutenant governor, and legislature
Capital:name: Saipan
geographic coordinates: 15 12 N, 145 45 E
time difference: UTC+10 (15 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions:none (commonwealth in political union with the US); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are four municipalities at the second order: Northern Islands, Rota, Saipan, Tinian
Independence:none (commonwealth in political union with the US)
National holiday:Commonwealth Day, 8 January (1978)
Constitution:Constitution of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands effective 1 January 1978; Covenant Agreement fully effective 4 November 1986
Legal system:based on US system, except for customs, wages, immigration laws, and taxation
Suffrage:18 years of age; universal; indigenous inhabitants are US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections
Executive branch:chief of state: President George W. BUSH of the US (since 20 January 2001); Vice President Richard B. CHENEY (since 20 January 2001)
head of government: Governor Benigno R. FITIAL (since 9 January 2006); Lieutenant Governor Timothy P. VILLAGOMEZ (since 9 January 2006)
cabinet: the cabinet consists of the heads of the 10 principal departments under the executive branch who are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate; other members include Special Assistants to the governor and office heads appointed by and reporting directly to the governor
elections: under the US Constitution, residents of unincorporated territories, such as the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, do not vote in elections for US president and vice president; governor and lieutenant governor elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year terms (eligible for a second term); election last held 5 November 2005 (next to be held in November 2009)
election results: Benigno R. FITIAL elected governor in a four-way race; percent of vote - Benigno R. FITIAL 28.07%, Heinz HOFSCHNEIDER 27.34%, Juan BABAUTA 26.6%, Froilan TENORIO 17.99%
Legislative branch:bicameral Legislature consists of the Senate (9 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year staggered terms) and the House of Representatives (18 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve two-year terms)
elections: Senate - last held 5 November 2005 (next to be held in November 2009); House of Representatives - last held 5 November 2005 (next to be held in November 2007)
election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Covenant Party 3, Republican Party 3, Democratic Party 2, independent 1; House of Representatives - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Covenant Party 7, Republican Party 7, Democratic Party 2, independent 2
note: the Northern Mariana Islands does not have a nonvoting delegate in the US Congress; instead, it has an elected official or "resident representative" in Washington, DC; seats by party - Republican Party 1 (Pedro A. TENORIO)
Judicial branch:Commonwealth Supreme Court; Superior Court; Federal District Court
Political parties and leaders:Covenant Party [Benigno R. FITIAL]; Democratic Party [Dr. Carlos S. CAMACHO]; Republican Party [Juan S. REYES]
Political pressure groups and leaders:NA
International organization participation:Interpol (subbureau), SPC, UPU
Flag description:blue, with a white, five-pointed star superimposed on the gray silhouette of a latte stone (a traditional foundation stone used in building) in the center, surrounded by a wreath

Northern Mariana Islands Quickstats

  • Population: 84,546 (July 2007 est.)
  • Area: 477 sq km
  • Density: 168 /km²
  • GDP (total):
  • GDP (per capita):
  • Literacy: 97%

Languages of Northern Mariana Islands

  • Philippine 24.4%
  • Chinese 23.4%
  • Chamorro 22.4%
  • English 10.8%
  • Other 19.1%

Useful to know

  • Currency: United States dollar (USD)
  • Dial code: +1 670

International Trade

External sites

More Resources

Northern Mariana Islands Internet

  • Usage: 10,000
  • Penetration: 12.5 %
  • Top Domain: .cq

WT eBusiness info:

  • Success Ranking: 100
  • Market testing: Untested
  • Overall risk: High
  • Overall reward: Low


  • Tourism: 10%
  • eCommerce: 10%
  • Gaming: 10%
  • eLearning: 10%

Recent blog posts